CALIFORNIA FLOUR

Parmesan Pretzels

I  LOVE pretzels. If I go to the mall, and I smell them for sale near by, I have to get one. HAVE TO! I know some may feel this way about Cinnabon.
image

But before there was Cinnabon in my hometown mall there were pretzels. So I’m stuck, but luckily for the better because if I ate a Cinnabon every time I entered the mall, lets just say I may actually have to exercise. And who are we kidding? That will NEVER happen ( as I wipe cookie crumbs from my lips).

I have always wanted to make pretzels but they seemed so intimidating. First you have to wait for the dough to rise. Then you have to boil them?! And then bake them? So many steps involved. If you’ve been following me for a while now you will notice a pattern of short and sweet, to the point , [1, 2, 3, done] step processes; so, pretzels just seemed like a joke. However,…

I was wrong. They are a process( sigh) and they do take patience (ugh), but they are OH SO EASY (HOORAY)! Follow the steps and you will NOT be disappointed.

I made plain sea salted pretzels and parmesan pretzels but you could really change it up to your preference. I would have used the giant salt but why buy the extra ingredient when sea salt works just fine, I also wanted to use some fresh jalapeños on top of the parmesan cheese pretzels that I picked up from Christopher’s brothers garden but I forgot them at home.

Side note, SHOUT OUT: Christopher’s brother Jason and sister-in-law Tracy, have thee most amazing backyard garden. It’s probably the size of my entire apartment ( which is tiny, but gigantic for a garden!) We visited up there last weekend and they let us steal all their vegetables claiming they wouldn’t be burdened by it. Let me tell you, we took A LOT! So fresh and so delicious, we ate half of our pickings before we even made it back inside from the garden. Thank you guys they are were so delicious!!!!! Here are some photos I took while we were there.

image

Jason has since sent me a photo of his ripe pickings just days after we looted them clean, and his bushel was practically the same size as what we took! Who knew how plentiful gardens really could be?! I’m in total awe.
image

image

Further update: they came and visited us in the city and brought us even more loot! We have vegetables and fruit coming out our ears!

Lets get down to the nitty gritty. Here’s how you make these bad ass pretzels, scoot over frozen Costco brands.

Here is What You’ll Need: 

 1 1/2 Cups warm water

1 Tbsp sugar

2 Tsp salt

1 Package active dry yeast

4 1/2 Cups all purpose flour

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

oil, to grease pan/ bowl

10 Cups of water

2/3 Cup baking soda

1 large egg yolk beaten with 1 Tbsp water

Optional Toppings

Cheese, shredded

Salt

Jalapeños

Here’s What You’ll Do:

1.) Mix together the water, sugar, salt, and yeast in a mixer bowl. Allow the mixture to sit for 5 minutes.

2.) Place flour and melted butter, in the bowl with the foamy bubbly yeast.
image

3.) Using a dough hook, mix on low until just combined.

4.) Change speed to medium and continue mixing until the dough is smooth and pulling away from the side of the bowl. About 4-5 minutes.
image

5.) Remove the dough from the bowl and oil the bowl up, then replace the dough in the bowl and cover with plastic wrap for approximately 1 hour.
image
image

6.) Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Line two sheets pans with parchment paper and oil the parchment lightly then set aside.

7.) In a large wide mouthed pot/ deep sauce pan, bring the water and baking soda combined to a rolling boil.

8.) Meanwhile, turn risen dough out, on to an oiled surface and divide into 8 equal-ish pieces.
image

9.) Individually, make each piece into a rope, shape into a heart, twist center stems over and under one another and press into the bottom of the heart. Then set aside
image

10.) Once your water is boiling place pretzels in one at a time for 30 seconds.
image

11.) Using a slotted spatula, remove the pretzel from the water and place on the prepared parchment sheet.

12.) Repeat with all pretzels.

13.) Brush each boiled pretzel with the egg wash mixture and sprinkle your toppings on.
image

14.) Bake until golden brown about 14 minutes.
image

15.) Transfer to a cooling rack for at least 5 minutes before serving.
image

15 steps, that was quite a large amount of steps, but trust me it is so worth it!
image

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
