CALIFORNIA FLOUR

Dog Food: Beef with Spinach and Tomato

I feel like I start off every post with ” IT’S SUPER SIMPLE”. It’s true though, again, this is a super simple, last-minute, thrown together meal that your dog will love.

Who are we kidding though, I totally ate half of this during the making and stole a few bites while it was cooling on the counter as well. Who doesn’t love beef and tomatoes? I even loved the taste of beef when I wasn’t eating meat. For the love of animals, but for me it didn’t last, I love the taste of meat too much!

Making dog food on a weekly basis can be a hassle,  but really it isn’t, it’s just making an extra meal that you’ve made and your dog will love it and you’ll know what exactly they are putting into their bodies…WORTH IT!

Here is a recipe that I whipped together last night for Lucy. This recipe did not come from the book ‘ Feeding Your Best Friend Better’ as some of my other posts have. This recipe is just a simple recipe that I know holds the ingredients that will give my dog a satisfying meal. Always, DISCLAIMER: Check with your veterinarian before feeding your dog something new. I post recipes strictly from experience of what I have been feeding my dog for the past two years that works for our family. Every dog has different needs. This is your baby, be careful. My dog is also given supplements alongside her food to ensure proper nutrition.
image

Here is what you’ll need:

1 1/2 lbs ground beef
1 15 oz can petite diced tomatoes drained( I used soaked in olive oil and garlic)
3 cups of fresh spinach
1 24 oz container of cottage cheese

Lucy, has been eating A LOT of pasta lately, so for this meal I decided to opt out. Apparently dogs don’t need to have carbs in their bodies, not like humans do. So for this week we will skip adding pasta. You can add pasta if you would like. Its pretty much a spaghetti dish. I usually use Egg Noodles, for the additional calcium.

Here’s what to do:

1.) In a large skillet on medium-high heat, brown the ground beef, while breaking apart until there is no more pink inside.  About 6-8 minutes.
2.) Add spinach and mix until wilted.
3.)  Turn off heat, mix in drained tomatoes.
4.) To serve,  mix 1 part meat mixture with 1 part cottage cheese.
The cottage cheese will help bring the temperature down to make it cooler for your pup to eat.

This recipe yields different for different sized dogs and the amount of exercise your dog gets that day. Also, if you eat  half of the mix yourself while making it. All human edible ingredients used, you can definitely make a larger batch and have it for dinner yourself too.

I feed my dog morning and night, she is 45-50 lbs and gets about 1 1/2 cups for each meal (combined meat and cheese measurements).

I highly recommend looking into feeding your dog  a home cooked meal, we have saved our dog from so many different tummy issues that we endured when she was a puppy and again Always check with your veterinarian before introducing new food or changing your dog’s diet.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2015 by in Dog Food and tagged , , , , , , , .
