CALIFORNIA FLOUR

Ricotta Pancakes

4

A  few weeks or so ago, Christopher and I tried a new restaurant a village away. I Loved it! Unfortunately I did not get adequate enough photos to  share my entire experience with you as a California Flour Review. But I can tell you I tried something new, something other than my beloved Eggs Benedict, and LOVED IT.

That day I tried my first ever ricotta pancake. “What?” You say.  Yes, a ricotta pancake.Cheese. In a pancake! I was curious how they did this, was it some sort of magical cheese flour they used? Did they just simply dump some cheese into the pancake as you would into scrambled eggs? WHAT did they do?!

I mentioned this to my boss one morning driving her into work, we passed the restaurant and I inquired whether she had tried the place before and she had not, nor had she had a ricotta pancake.

Well the next week I worked an overnight for their family and I’d promised the children we’d have breakfast for dinner. The mom, aware of this, was so kind to look up for me a recipe for ricotta pancakes, she happened to have some ricotta on hand! PERFECT!

They came out quite delicious! We even added blueberries to half the batch which was delicious as well!

This recipe is from the kitchn

I hope you try it and love it as I did. It sounds a little tricky at first, a tiny bit more work involved than traditional pancakes but definitely worth it if you have some ricotta on hand or are a fan 🙂

Ricotta Pancakes

Makes 8-10 pancakes

What You’ll Need:

1 cup ricotta cheese ( set in strainer for 30 m if runny, if not skip strainer)
1 cup of flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/8th teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
2 eggs, separated into yolks and whites
1 teaspoon of vanilla
Butter for pan

What to do:

1.) In a small bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Set aside.
2.) Combine ricotta, milk, egg yolks and vanilla in a separate large bowl.
3.) Add the dry ingredients to the ricotta and milk mixture, stirring gently until just combined. Set aside

1
4.) In a third bowl,  beat the egg whites with an electric mixer until stiff.

If planning on making any additions now is the time to add them into the batter. Prior to the egg whites.  We ended up adding blueberries to half of the batch. Photo at bottom, I do not suggest heavy ingredients as these are very fragile pancakes… Or use a fish spatula.)

5.) Stir in a scoop of the egg whites into the mixed batter to lighten the batter.

2

6.) Pour rest of the egg whites into the batter and fold until just combined.

7.) Heat a griddle of medium high heat and melt butter.

8.) Using a 1/3 measuring cup  pour batter onto buttered hot griddle.

3

9.) Cook  about 3 minutes on each side.
10.) Repeat with remaining pancakes.
11.) Serve and enjoy!

Good choices of toppings are: Fresh fruit, your favorite jam/jelly/preserve spread, honey, syrup.

I hope you try these out, they’re really worth trying. It’s a whole new experience and taste and still fulfills your pancake craving!

Here are the blueberry ones, they tasted great too! They were a bit hard to flip as the batter didn’t have enough strength to hold while flipping.

5

5 comments on “Ricotta Pancakes

  1. Bernice
    April 8, 2015

    Ricotta pancakes are always a nice treat!

    Like

    • California Flour
      April 8, 2015

      YES! I hadn’t heard of them until recently, can’t wait to experience more versions of them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bernice
        April 11, 2015

        I first had them at a B&B in NH. It was definitely a nice change!

        Like

  2. laduhhhhh
    April 9, 2015

    Yum! Definitely going to have to make these soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • California Flour
      April 9, 2015

      They’re so yummy! When I tried that restaurant they had chives in them, they were super savory ! Let me know how they go!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2015 by in Breakfast, Recipes, Treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
